Kokoda Spirit Racing

Trials and tribulations of the KSR trail running team.

Ben Duffus – Training diary: 15th April to 21st April

Monday 15th April: Strength and Core exercises + 60 min easy cycle

Another strength work session after a solid weekend of training which included a Tour de Mt Coot-tha with Caine on Saturday.

Tuesday 16th April: W/U exercises + 90 min including 60min of uphill/downhill reps and 20min barefoot

I felt great during today’s session and finished it wanting more. Practicing running downhill as fast possible is always an exhilarating way to start the day and as well as being a lot of fun, is great preparation for the pounding downhills of the up and coming TNF100 and then Kokoda Challenge.

Wednesday 17th April: W/U exercises + 90 min undulating recovery run and 20min barefoot

I pulled up quite well from the hill reps the day before and managed to cruise along at a reasonable pace.

Thursday 18th April: Strength and Core exercises + 60 min easy cycle

Same session as Monday but with a little more zip since I was less fatigued.

Friday 19th April: W/U exercises + 90 min including tempo session with 60min of faster running and 20min barefoot

I have always loved the feelings of sustaining a fast pace in tempo sessions and today was no exception. I was a little surprised at how good I was feeling today and I am looking forward to a big weekend of training.

Saturday 20th April: W/U exercises + 7 hour hilly run

This one was of those runs that remind me why I started running ultras in the first place. For a change, the weather was perfect with blue skies (I swear the weather has been determined to rain on nearly all long runs this year so I was very grateful for the reprieve!) and slightly cool temperatures. With no pressure to push the pace at all, today was just about enjoying the trails and getting use to being out for several hours before TNF100 in less than a month. I even surprised myself by unintentionally negative splitting. All-in-all it was a fantastic day spent on Mt Coot-tha.

If spending hours running trails doesn’t put a smile on your face then nothing will!

If spending hours running trails doesn’t put a smile on your face then nothing will!

Sunday 21st April: W/U exercises + 3 hours including  60min of faster running and 20min barefoot

I started off really slowly with it taking a while for my legs to loosen out after yesterday’s run. However after the first bit of faster paced running I surprising felt much better and actually felt really good for the rest of the run.

Over all this was a great week of training with a massive weekend to cap it all off. I’m getting really excited about TNF100, which is now less than 4 weeks away. I’m hoping to get another week of solid training before it is time to start thinking about tapering. As always, my training program was created by Andy Dubois at Mile27 Personal Training.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 22, 2013 by in Training Update, Uncategorized and tagged , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 349 other followers

KSR Visitors

  • 22,578 Visitors
