Kokoda Spirit Racing

Trials and tribulations of the KSR trail running team.

December Training Update – Ben Duffus

There has certainly been plenty happening in my life since the Kawerau King of the Mountain back in November. That race came the during my exam block for uni, and only two days after getting back I was sitting the first of my finals. It was certainly a snap back to reality after an amazing trip to New Zealand! Fortunately, all went well and I successfully graduated from my Bachelor of Science with a major in Physics (and a cumulative GPA of 7 out of 7). It has certainly been an enlightening, informative and at some times, frustrating, journey to reach that graduation day and I can’t thank my family and friends enough for all their help and support along the way. Should all go to plan, I will be attending another graduation ceremony in a year’s time with 2014 being my honours year.

Ben Duffus Graduation with Family
A major benefit of not having any classes has been the freedom to routinely meet up KSR team mates for long runs together. To prepare for my upcoming races, consisting of Bogong to Hotham in January, Shotover Moonlight Mountain Marathon in February and the Buffalo Stampede in April, it’s fair to say that these runs has involved a decent amount of hills. After having focused on somewhat flatter terrain before Surf Coast Century, it feels good to back in the mountains and my legs are feeling better climbing and descending than ever (more specific details of my training can be found here).

Mt Barney

Mt Barney

Dave Coombs in action

Dave Coombs in action

You never know if B2H will be hot and sunny or cold and raining!

You never know if B2H will be hot and sunny or cold and raining!

It’s been great to explore parts of south east Queensland other than what is accessible from my doorstep. Whilst I do enjoy the comfort of routine and familiarity, there is nothing more exciting then exploring some place new! On that note, I am extremely excited to be heading down to the Dandenong Ranges to celebrate Christmas with my family and then head to the Victorian Alps. There I plan to do a little bit of course scouting in preparation for Bogong to Hotham and the Buffalo Stampede, which should all be a lot of fun.

Picture taking heading up Mt Bogong on the weekend of this year's cancelled race

Picture taking heading up Mt Bogong on the weekend of this year’s cancelled race

So all in all, it looks like 2014 is going to be a busy year for me, but hopefully with the continued support from those around me, it will be bigger and better than ever!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 14, 2013 by in Training Update.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 349 other followers

KSR Visitors

  • 22,379 Visitors
