Kokoda Spirit Racing

Trials and tribulations of the KSR trail running team.

Ben Duffus – Training Diary: 18th to 27th April

Friday 18th April: W/U exercises + 90min on Mt Coot-tha including 43min of hard uphill/downhill reps + W/D exercises

I was feeling great in today’s session and had a lot of fun going hard on my local hill.

 

Saturday 19th April: W/U exercises + 4 hours at Springbrook and Purlingbrook including 60min stair reps + W/D exercises

Met up with KSR team mate Caine Warburton for today’s run.  I had wanted to come out to Spingbrook/Purlingbrook for a while now as it one of the few locations in South-East Queensland that has a descent amount of stairs to train on.  In previous years I haven’t done any stair training before TNF100, so I want to change that for this year! I felt strong the whole time and felt by the end like I was gaining some more confidence descending on stairs (I have previously felt better ascending stair than descending them).

 

Sunday 20th April: W/U exercises + 4 hours on Mt Warning including 60min of hard uphill + W/D exercises

Today’s run was about getting use to long (1000m+ ascent) but runnable climbs (and descents) since I felt at the Buffalo Stampede that I was quite comfortable on the steep stuff but the long runnable climbs/descents really got to me. I felt really good today which is an encouraging sign.

 

Monday 21st April: 60 min cycling on Mt Coot-tha + Strength and Core exercises

I was surprised at the lack of soreness from the weekend.

 

Tuesday 22nd April: W/U exercises + 2hr30min min on Mt Coolum including 102min of hard uphill/downhill reps + W/D exercises

Today was another great stair training session. I was very consistent in my times for the reps throughout the session and felt like I gained even more confidence on the descents.

 

Wednesday 23rd April: W/U exercises + 90 min on Mt Coot-tha + W/D exercises

Just an easy run today to recover from yesterday’s hard session

 

Thursday 24th April: 60 min cycling on Mt Coot-tha + Strength and Core exercises

I was feeling nice and recovered in today’s session and looking forward to a big few days of training to come.

 

Friday 25th April: W/U exercises + 2hr30min min on Mt Coot-tha including 60min tempo session + W/D exercises

Today kicked off what will be my biggest 3 days of training for TNF100. Overall it was a great session and I really enjoyed moving quickly over a variety of terrain.

 

Saturday 26th April: W/U exercises + 7 hours on Mt Warning + W/D exercises

Again, I met up with Caine and we ran together for the first 4 hours but we probably went a bit harder than I would have done so by myself for a 7 hour run. So the last 3 hours were a bit slower (not by choice!), but I was really happy with it because I felt like I got to go into “ultra-mode” for those last 3 hours. I was very lucky to bump into a local trail runner in my final hour as he helped me to keep working hard when I needed it the most!

 

Sunday 27th April: W/U exercises + 4 hours at Pollies including 60min of hard uphill + W/D exercises

I was very glad to be running with Caine today as he really helped push me after a long outing the day before. Having said that, we still ran much more much conservatively today! Even though the pace wasn’t especially quick, I was surprised at how strong I was still feeling on all the climbs.

 

Thanks Caine for some great runs!

Thanks Caine for some great runs!

Total Time Running: 27 hours

Total Time Cycling: 2 hours

Total Ascent: 16 495m (measured by Suunto Ambit2)

 

This block of training has given me a lot of confidence going into TNF100 for a couple of reasons. Firstly, I actually now have a little bit of stair training in my legs as well as several long sustained climbs/descents. And secondly, I really felt in the last weekend like I found my “go-all-day” gear that never seemed to kick in at the Buffalo Stampede. I’m sure I will need it at TNF100! As always, my training program was created by Andy Dubois at Mile27 Personal Training.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 27, 2014 by in Training Update.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 349 other followers

KSR Visitors

  • 22,578 Visitors
