Kokoda Spirit Racing

Trials and tribulations of the KSR trail running team.

The Final Thought – Sky Running World Championships – Caine Warburton

Sky Team1

As I sit here in a quaint café sipping away on my strong French coffee my eyes are continuously drawn to the peaks and ridges of the mountains surrounding Chamonix. Unlike any terrain I have ever laid eyes on the European Alp’s are every bit as daunting and exciting as one could imagine, no wonder this is the adventure capital of France!

So with the mountains looming above me and a warm coffee in front I am starting to reflect on it all. I have seen some parts of the course and it is WITHOUT A DOUBT a complete MONSTER, it makes our Buffalo Stampede in Australia look like a fun run….no joke!

The course has chained sections that go up vertical rock walls, landslide scree rock hopping, punishing technical descents and not to mention the likely hood of waist deep snow in more than one place along the way!

10474738_589513841147113_7454681441896332398_n

So I am I prepared? Well that’s the million dollar question isn’t it and we won’t know until I have crossed the finish line. However with less than 12hrs until race time I am feeling confident…not cocky but relaxed, ready and realistic! I am surrounded by my passionate and inspirational countrymen and women and most importantly my loving, beautiful and extremely supportive family.

10336754_589515737813590_2001570679487820505_n

I couldn’t ask for much more!

So providing the weather and a few lingering niggles play the game in the morning I see a great day in the mountains waiting for me when I wake up.

By the time you read this I will be out there duelling with the course, the competition and myself.

Thankyou all for your support and I will see you on the other side!

Happy Running

Caine Warburton

One comment on “The Final Thought – Sky Running World Championships – Caine Warburton

  1. laurenhailey
    June 27, 2014

    Best of luck!! What an experience it must be. I can’t wait to read the race report. Happy Running 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 349 other followers

KSR Visitors

  • 22,578 Visitors
